The American Samoa Entry Permit Waiver Program permits citizens of specific countries to visit American Samoa without needing an entry-permit or visa for a period of 30 days or less. See the list on the right of all the participating countries. If you hold a passport from these countries, then you are eligible to apply for a permit waiver. You must apply and receive authorization at least 48 hours prior to travel. Real time approvals will no longer be available and arriving at the airport without a previously approved OK Board will likely result in being denied boarding. 


Travelers entering American Samoa to board fishing vessels or other commercial vessels are not eligible for the EPWP. Check below for requirements or click here to start the two-step application process

NOTE: Cruise Ship passengers from EPWP eligible countries need not apply for a permit waiver or OK Board. 

Documentary Requirements for Travel Under the EPWP

Travelers to American Samoa under the EPWP must have an e-Passport denoted with the          symbol.

E-Passports must be issued by the proper passport authority and must meet international standards for storing and securing information corresponding to the passport and bearer.

What you would need when applying online:
  1. A copy of your e-Passport;

  2. A copy of your ticket or itinerary indicating that a round-trip ticket or onward passage;

  3. Your local contact information when on island;

  4. A valid credit card to pay the non-refundable application processing fee. You can also pay once you arrive at any of the authorized Ports of Entry. At this time, we are only able to accept cash at these ports of entry. Please have exact change available. 

For security purposes, the online application process consists of a two-step process. Click here for more information. 

What happens when I get approved for entry under the EPWP?

You will provided with an authorization to enter American Samoa by way of an OK Board that you will be required to bring with you upon arrival.

In the event you choose to pay upon arrival, a conditional OK Board will be issued. Non-payment will result in denial of entry. 

What if I have not applied for an Entry Permit Waiver before I arrive in American Samoa?
  1. Andorra

  2. Australia

  3. Austria

  4. Belgium

  5. Brunei

  6. Canada

  7. Chile

  8. Czech Republic

  9. Denmark

  10. Estonia

  11. Federated States of Micronesia

  12. Finland

  13. France

  14. Germany

  15. Greece

  16. Hungary

  17. Iceland

  18. Italy

  19. Israel

  20. Japan

  21. Republic of S. Korea

  22. Latvia

  23. Liechtenstein

  24. Lithuania

  25. Luxembourg

  26. Malta

  27. Republic of Marshall Islands

  28. Monaco

  29. Netherlands

  30. New Zealand

  31. Norway

  32. Palau

  33. Portugal

  34. San Marino

  35. Singapore

  36. Slovakia

  37. Slovenia

  38. Spain

  39. Sweden

  40. Switzerland

  41. Taiwan

  42. United Kingdom*

You may be turned away at any of the Ports of Entry if you do not apply for and receive approval (by way of an OK Board) from the Attorney General's Office. 


*Includes England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. 

Entry Permit Waiver Program (EPWP)

© 2017 American Samoa Department of Legal Affairs.